Our Council governs the LWF between Assemblies. Its members are elected by the Assembly.

The Council decides on the structure of the LWF Communion Office, sets the LWF budget and presents an annual report to the member churches.

It elects the General Secretary and directs his or her work.

It meets once a year.


The Council comprises:

  • 48 persons, elected by the Assembly
  • the President, elected by the Assembly
  • the Chairperson of the Finance Committee if he or she is elected from outside the Council

The LWF Constitution stipulates due representation of ordained and lay persons, women, men and youth.

The term of office for Council members ends at the close of the next ordinary Assembly. Members are eligible for one re-election.

Members of the Council

ADA MAINA, Rev. Dr Jeannette, Evangelical Lutheran Church of CAMEROON

ALBECKER, Mr Christian, Union of Protestant Churches of Alsace and Lorraine (FRANCE)

ÁLVAREZ ROCHA, Rev. Geraldina, Lutheran COSTA RICAN Church (COSTA RICA)

ANDO, Ms Fu, JAPAN Evangelical Lutheran Church

ANTONSEN, Mr Jacob Breda, NORWEGIAN Lutheran Free Church (NORWAY)

AZAR, Ms Sally, The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land (PALESTINE)

BORGOARY, Ms Ranjita Christie, Northern Evangelical Lutheran Church (INDIA)

BRABAND, Ms Julia, Evangelical Church in Central GERMANY

CHANG, Bishop. Chun-Wa, The Evangelical Lutheran Church of HONG KONG

CHEN, Rev. Selma (Shu-Chen), The Lutheran Church of TAIWAN (REPUBLIC OF CHINA)

DRANGSHOLT, Mr Kjetil, Church of NORWAY

EATON, Presiding Bishop Elizabeth A., Evangelical Lutheran Church in AMERICA (USA)

FILIBUS, Archbishop Dr Musa Panti, Lutheran Church of Christ in NIGERIA

FLIPPIN, Rev. William, Evangelical Lutheran Church in AMERICA (USA)

FRIEDRICH, Rev. Dr Nestor Paulo, Evangelical Church of the Lutheran Confession in BRAZIL

HIETAMÄKI, Dr Minna, Evangelical Lutheran Church of FINLAND

JACKÉLEN, Archbishop Antje, Church of SWEDEN

JULY, Bishop Frank O., Evangelical Lutheran Church in Württemberg (GERMANY)

KERKETTA, Rev. Dr Christ Sumit Abhay, Gossner Evangelical Lutheran Church (INDIA)

KLÁTIK, Bishop Miloš, Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in the SLOVAK REPUBLIC

KLEIST, Pröpstin Astrid, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern GERMANY

KOCHENDORFER, Bishop Larry, Evangelical Lutheran Church in CANADA

MAGWAZA, Mr Khulekani S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (SOUTH AFRICA)

MBISE, Ms LoeRose, Evangelical Lutheran Church in TANZANIA

MIRGELER, Oberkirchenrat Olaf-Johannes, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern GERMANY

MOUANGA NDEMBE, Ms Stevy C., Evangelical Lutheran Church of Congo (REPUBLIC OF CONGO)

MOYO, Rev. Elitha, Evangelical Lutheran Church in ZIMBABWE

MUNYIKA, Bishop Dr Veikko, The Evangelical Lutheran Church in NAMIBIA

NAVRÁTILOVÁ, Ms Olga, Evangelical Church of CZECH Brethren (CZECH REPUBLIC)

OBERDORFER, Prof. Dr Bernd, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Bavaria (GERMANY)

PHILIP, Ms Cheryl, Evangelical Lutheran Church in AMERICA (USA)

RAKOTONIRONA, Rev. Prof. David, Malagasy Lutheran Church (MADGASCAR)

RODRÍGUEZ RAMÍREZ, Mr Grosvyn Ariel, Christian Lutheran Church of HONDURAS

SCHMIDT-KLIE, Mr Lasse, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hanover (GERMANY)

SEYENKULO, Bishop Dr Jensen, Lutheran Church in LIBERIA

SOJKA, Dr Jerzy Janusz, Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in POLAND

STEILMANN FRANCO, Ms Karla Maria, Evangelical Church of the River Plate (ARGENTINA)

STEINKE, Rev. Dr Robin, Evangelical Lutheran Church in AMERICA (USA)

STUBKJÆR, Rt Rev. Henrik, Evangelical Lutheran Church in DENMARK

SUMBAYAK, Ms Desri Maria, The INDONESIAN Christian Church (INDONESIA)

TELAUMBANUA, Bishop Tuhoni, The Protestant Christian Church (INDONESIA)

TKACH, Ms Vera, Federation of Evangelical Lutheran Churches in Russia and Other States (RUSSIAN FEDERATION)

VALERIANO, Mr Johanan Celine, Lutheran Church in the Philippines

VIILMA, Archbishop Urmas, ESTONIAN Evangelical Lutheran Church (ESTONIA)

VITIELLO, Ms Cordelia, Evangelical Lutheran Church in ITALY

WAMBUA, Ms Faith Mwikali, KENYA Evangelical Lutheran Church

WESTFELD, Ms Bettina, Evangelical Lutheran of Saxony (GERMANY)

WIIUM ARNADOTTIR, Ms Thuridur Björg, The Evangelical Lutheran Church of ICELAND

YAP, Bishop Aaron Chuan Ching, Lutheran Church in MALAYSIA

YIGEZU DIBISA, Rev. Yonas, The Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus (ETHIOPIA)


Read More

Council Committees

The Council appoints from its membership committees and sub-committees to direct specific areas of work as needed and designates their chairpersons.

In addition, the Council may elect up to 21 advisers to the Committees to provide professional competence and expertise.

Council Committees


The Council elects seven Vice-Presidents, one from each LWF region, from among its membership.