We have seven vice-presidents, each representing one of the seven LWF regions.

They are elected by the Council from among its members, and may be ordained or lay. Furthermore, a due representation of women and men shall be observed. They represent the LWF in the region to which their respective church belongs and moderate LWF church leadership meetings in that region.

The Vice-Presidents serve for a seven-year term. As with all other Council members, a vice-president’s term of office runs until the close of the next ordinary Assembly.

Current Vice-Presidents

  • Africa: ADA EPSE MAINA, Rev. Dr Jeannette, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Cameroon (CAMEROON)
  • Asia: SUMBAYAK, Ms Desri Maria, The Indonesian Christian Church (INDONESIA)
  • Central Eastern Europe: VIILMA, Archbishop Urmas, Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church (ESTONIA)
  • Central Western Europe: KLEIST, Pröpstin Astrid, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (GERMANY)
  • Nordic Countries: JACKELÉN, Archbishop Dr Antje, Church of Sweden (SWEDEN)
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: FRIEDRICH, Rev. Dr Nestor Paulo, Evangelical Church of the Lutheran Confession in Brazil (BRAZIL)
  • North America: EATON, Presiding Bishop Elizabeth A., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)


Press Photos

All photos: LWF/Albin Hillert

LWF Regional Vice-President News

19 April 2021
GENEVA, Switzerland
3 April 2021
CHICAGO, United States /GENEVA
1 April 2021
10 April 2020
Capão da Canoa, RS, Brazil/GENEVA