The Meeting of Officers oversees the proper functioning of the LWF between Council meetings.

It appoints programmatic and supervisory staff with the exception of Communion Office Leadership Team members who are appointed by the Council. It acts as the LWF Board of Trustees and Personnel Committee. The Meeting of Officers normally convenes twice a year.


The Meeting of Officers is made up of the

  • President
  • Vice-Presidents
  • Chairperson of the Finance Committee
  • Chairpersons of the other Council Committees

At least four of its members are women and at least four are men. Geographical representation is considered in their selection.

Members of the Meeting of Officers 

  • Archbishop Dr Panti Filibus Musa, Lutheran Church of Christ in Nigeria (Nigeria)
  • Africa: Rev. Dr Jeannette Ada Epse Maina, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Cameroon (Cameroon)
  • Asia: Ms Desri Maria Sumbayak, The Indonesian Christian Church (Indonesia)
  • Central Eastern Europe: Archbishop Urmas Viilma, Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church (Estonia)
  • Central Western Europe: Pröpstin Astrid Kleist, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (Germany)
  • Nordic Countries: Archbishop Antje Jackelén, Church of Sweden (Sweden)
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Rev. Dr Nestor Friedrich, Evangelical Church of the Lutheran Confession in Brazil (Brazil)
  • North America: Presiding Bishop Elizabeth A. Eaton, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)
Committee Chairpersons
  • Finance Committee: Oberkirchenrat Olaf Johannes Mirgeler, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (Germany)
  • Committee for World Service: Rt Rev. Henrik Stubkjær, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark (Denmark)
  • Committee for Theology and Public Witness: Rev. Dr Robin Steinke, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)
  • Committee for Mission and Development: Rev. Yonas Yigezu Dibisa, The Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus (Ethipia)
  • Committee for Communications, co-chairs: Rev. Karla M. Steilmann Franco, Evangelical Church of the River Plate (Argentina), and Mr  Johanan Celine Valeriano, Lutheran Church in the Philippines (Philippines)
  • Standing Committee for Constitution and Membership: Ms Ranjita Borgoary, Northern Evangelical Lutheran Church (India)
  • Ad-hoc Committee for Advocacy and Public Voice: Ms Vera Tkach, Federation of Evangelical Lutheran Churches in Russia and Other States (Rusian Federation)