The Executive Committee oversees the proper functioning of the LWF between Council meetings. The Executive Committee shall normally meet semiannually, with one meeting in conjunction with the Council meeting.

The Executive Committee shall be accountable to the Council and shall:

  • Provide oversight of the Communion Office based on reports from the General Secretary;
  • Provide oversight of the budget and resource management;
  • Ensure that operations are in line with the Council decisions and the LWF Strategy;
  • Conduct performance reviews of the General Secretary;
  • Be the appointing authority for department directors;
  • Serve as the LWF Personnel Committee and Board of Trustees;
  • Perform such other duties as may be assigned by the Council.



The Executive Committee is made up of the

  • President
  • Vice-Presidents
  • Chairperson of the Finance Committee
  • Chairperson of the Committee for World Service
  • Chairpersons of the specified Committees

At least 40% of the members of the Executive Committee shall be women and at least 40% shall be men. Regional representation shall be considered in their selection. In addition, it may elect up to two members for the purpose of ensuring gender and generational representation.

Members of the Executive Committee 

  • Archbishop Dr Panti Filibus Musa, Lutheran Church of Christ in Nigeria (Nigeria)
  • Africa: Rev. Dr Jeannette Ada Epse Maina, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Cameroon (Cameroon)
  • Asia: Ms Desri Maria Sumbayak, The Indonesian Christian Church (Indonesia)
  • Central Eastern Europe: Archbishop Urmas Viilma, Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church (Estonia)
  • Central Western Europe: Pröpstin Astrid Kleist, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (Germany)
  • Nordic Countries: Archbishop Dr Antje Jackelén, Church of Sweden (Sweden)
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Rev. Dr Nestor Friedrich, Evangelical Church of the Lutheran Confession in Brazil (Brazil)
  • North America: Presiding Bishop Elizabeth A. Eaton, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)
Committee Chairpersons
  • Finance Committee: Oberkirchenrat Olaf Johannes Mirgeler, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Northern Germany (Germany)
  • Committee for World Service: Rt Rev. Henrik Stubkjær, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark (Denmark)
  • Committee for Theology and Public Witness: Rev. Dr Robin Steinke, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (USA)
  • Committee for Mission and Development: Rev. Yonas Yigezu Dibisa, The Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus (Ethiopia)
  • Committee for Communications, co-chairs: Rev. Karla M. Steilmann Franco, Evangelical Church of the River Plate (Paraguay), and Mr  Johanan Celine Valeriano, Lutheran Church in the Philippines (Philippines)
  • Standing Committee for Constitution and Membership: Ms Ranjita Borgoary, Northern Evangelical Lutheran Church (India)
  • Ad-hoc Committee for Advocacy and Public Voice: Ms Vera Tkach, Federation of Evangelical Lutheran Churches in Russia and Other States (Rusian Federation)